Don’t Blame Society, You Are Society

Don’t blame society, you are society. Let’s start with that simple truth.

Don’t blame society, you are society.  Let’s let that soak in real quick.

Don’t blame society, you are society.  Do I have to repeat myself again?

Don’t blame society, you are society.

Got it? Good.

Over the past few months, even this week, we have witnessed too many global atrocities.  Innocents were murdered.  Too many innocents were murdered. Regardless of their race or professions, you have to admit that: Innocents were murdered.

I don’t want to address these events individually, not because I don’t want to, but because I simply don’t know how to.  I don’t know the answers to fix these problems.  I don’t know how to heal the pain. I don’t know how to stop the hatred. I wish I did.  All I know is that something has got to give.  Senator Elizabeth Warren said it best on Twitter earlier today:

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 1.26.00 PM.png

But where does change come from?  What specific changes should be made? I don’t really have the full answer to those questions yet, either. What I do know is that we all have to make a change.

We wait for other people to make the first move.  We blame society for causing our problems.  We have nobody to blame but ourselves.  You have nobody to blame but yourself.  You are society.  I don’t know a whole lot, but I know that much.

I know that fear is never the answer.  I know that hate is just a secondary emotion.  I know that responding to hate with hate is childish.  We all know that saying about “An eye for an eye,” so why do we keep doing it? Where have we gone wrong?

Ask yourself these questions. Look inside yourself. Look outside yourself.  Have empathy.

I also know that a part of a group does not represent a whole. I know that we need to stop being so short sighted and narrow minded. Look outside yourself. Look outside of your way of life, your upbringing, your job, your race. Have empathy. Fight for the rights of the common good, not against a community because of the behavior of a few. Why does this keep happening?  What could we do better?

Ask yourself these questions. Look inside yourself. Look outside yourself.  Have empathy.

I have seen people respond to the actions of a few with hate.  I know for a fact that the actions of a few hateful people have caused us to go to war with, marginalize, despise, and blame a whole group of innocents.  We have killed, beaten, judged, and even interned masses of people in camps because of our inability of have empathy.

As a bystander, you are responsible.  As a person who allows to politicians spew hate, you are responsible.  As a member of this society, you are responsible.

I was taught when I was young that religion, opinions, and event political views  are personal.  I still believe this.  I also believe that current events have gotten personal.

I don’t know the answers to our problems, but I do know that hate is not the answer. I do know that more violence is not the answer.  I do know that we need to change. I know that something is wrong with society. I know that means that there is something wrong with me and something wrong with you. I do know that I need to speak up.

And I know that we need to speak up.

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Blame Society, You Are Society

Leave a Reply

