Good Always Wins?

My mama always told me that good always wins in the end. Last night, as I see it, good didn’t win.

I have a heavy heart. I never knew it would be this hard. Of course I considered the idea of a loss. I considered for a long while what it would feel like to have my chosen candidate fall short.

I know what it’s like to lose. I’ve lost before.  Under pressure, my right hand gets the shakes, not unlike 85 year old Great Aunt Geraldine’s whole body, so it’s impossible for me to win at a game of Operation or Jenga. So I know the feeling.

This isn’t me being a sore loser. 

I’m Gay. I’m Mexican. I’m a minority. I come from a family of immigrants.  And most recently, I am scared. 

I am scared because of the turn out of this election, not because we lost, but because of what it means.

The election of Donald Trump as the United States President Elect was an extremely audible FUCK YOU to me, my family, and friends.

Let me rephrase:

A VOTE for Donald Trump to be United States President Elect was an extremely audible FUCK YOU to me, my family, and friends.

So am I sad we lost?
Yes, but as someone who loves democracy, I will get over that.

The thing that scares me most is not the loss. What scares me most is the fact that almost 50% of America voted for this guy. This guy who called my family rapists amongst other things. This guy who’s running mate believes in gay conversion.  This guy who’s called out entire religious groups as terrorists.

But I get it.  Many of you chose him because of your opinions on Hillary. Many of you feel the political system left you out. Many of you wanted to take a chance on “change.” Many of you don’t believe he actually means what he says.

I hope to God you were right.

So you took a chance. I get that too.

But guess what? You didn’t take a chance with your lives, no. You took a chance with mine. You took a chance with my family’s. You took a chance with my friend’s.

Today, we are alive. We are hurt. But we are whole.

I once read a quote that I want you all to consider for a second:

“If you want to know whether or not a decision is a good one, consider how it affects the least fortunate among us. If it benefits them, it’s a good decision” – Gandhi

Stop and think. Do you really believe your vote didn’t send a message to every minority in America that they are second class? Do you really believe you made a good decision?

I hope to God you were right.

And guess what?
If you weren’t, I’m going to work my ass off to eradicate vile hatred like that which spews out of Donald J. Trump’s mouth from this country. I am going to work to stop the silencing of minority voices. I am going to work my ass of to ensure that my loved ones, neighbors, and even people I don’t know feel safe in this country AND NOT AT THE EXPENSE OF ANYONE.  

But first, I realize that we must come together. I realize that now we are all in this together. Though I see this as evil winning, many view it as the exact opposite. I realize there is a lot of learning to do on both sides.

So let’s talk it out. Let’s discuss how your decision affected thy neighbor. Let’s discuss how I can look at this new president with an open mind. Let’s discuss how best to call him out when he steps out of line. Let’s discuss how to move forward.

I know last night feels like the end for a lot of people. It felt like the end for me too.

My mama always told me that good always wins in the end. Last night, as I see it, good didn’t win.

Then This Must Not Be The End

Not if I have a fucking thing to say about it.

I refuse to let last night’s results to take away my faith in humanity.

I refuse to give up on our joint future as a nation.

I refuse to give in to hatred and partisan politics.

I choose to move forward.

2 thoughts on “Good Always Wins?

  1. You go Sean! Keep it up! Now is the time to speak out.

    And you are right – this is not the end. So far Trump has only had to go up against people. Now he will have to go up against the Constitution. I’m betting on the Constitution.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

